One thing about Twitter that I’ve never really understood is the way that the reply to feature works, i.e. the ability to precede your tweet with @[username] of the person whose tweet you’re replying to.
Let’s say the person I’m replying to happens to be a user that I’m following but they’re not following me. In that situation, shouldn’t Twitter let me know that the user I think I am going to reply to isn’t going to see my reply? In other words, when using @reply, won’t users think that their reply will actually be seen by the intended recipient? The reality, of course, is that the only person who sees my reply is me and those that are following me. Maybe there is something about Twitter that I just don’t get, but it would seem as if, when someone clicks on the reply-to link, that Twitter should check to see if that person is following you, and if they are not, display a message to the effect of that this person won’t see your reply.
Is it just me, or is not having a message like this a ui screwup?